Welcome to Junk Jack Forum!  

• We need your support! 


Minecraft RAM

Our Minecraft forum! Feel free to discuss Notch's creation here
  • Author
  • Message

ZombieJack

Offline

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:49 pm
  • Location: Somewhere in Junk Jack, killing Slimes

Minecraft RAM

PostSat Jul 13, 2013 7:52 pm

I have Windows XP 32bit and I want to increase allocated memory for Mimecraft I can't go past 494 mb. I want 1 GB so I can play Feed The Beast without lag. I know you cant go past 1 GB on 32bit but I can't go past 494 mb. Even Addtional Java codes don't work. :afraid:
Junk Jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack X.
Nothin' can stop me playin' Junk Jack.

ddawg77

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 1863
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:24 am
  • Location: If you're looking here, there's a 97.8% chance that you're a creeper

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSat Jul 13, 2013 8:57 pm

Trust me, minecraft will lag like crap, even with 1 gb. 2 gb or more is recommended.
If you have any questions or comments I will be glad to help! :)

Multipackwolf

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 23823
  • Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:58 pm
  • Location: Grinding my way through MMO's.

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSun Jul 14, 2013 12:43 am

I generally play on the default 500mb, I have no issues with lag.
However, since 1.6 made mods more annoying to install, I switched to the Magic Launcher If you go into Setup and then Advanced, you can put more RAM into Minecraft that way, And when I do that, I put in 1500mb (That's 1.5GB) of RAM in.
Steam | Discord - Multarix#1337
Warframe | Hammerhead of <Space Shark Incorporated> | Multarix
Black Desert (NA, UNO) | GM of <Aggro> | Indus

Cubanjack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7375
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:17 pm
  • Location: Antarctica, chilling with my Penguin Army

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSun Jul 14, 2013 2:30 am

i love magic launcher
If You Feel Sad, Hug A Penguin, It Will Make Life Better
Join The Penguin Cult! Members: 19
Image
My SKyrim Mods!
My Penguin Tumblr
Lone trainer: Empoleon
Steam: Rakuza (demon head profile pic)
Gamecenter: Rakuza127

Multipackwolf

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 23823
  • Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:58 pm
  • Location: Grinding my way through MMO's.

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSun Jul 14, 2013 9:35 am

Same :asd:
Steam | Discord - Multarix#1337
Warframe | Hammerhead of <Space Shark Incorporated> | Multarix
Black Desert (NA, UNO) | GM of <Aggro> | Indus

ddawg77

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 1863
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 1:24 am
  • Location: If you're looking here, there's a 97.8% chance that you're a creeper

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSun Jul 14, 2013 1:01 pm

Meh, I ended up screwing around too much with magic launcher and messed up minecraft, and it was this big ordeal. I couldn't just "force update" lol. Then just recently our PC got malware and the geeks fixed it but "forgot to back up our PC", so I lost all my minecraft worlds, one of which I defeated the ender dragon and had 5 stacks of iron and like 40 diamonds etc. etc. and it was all legit.

You had one job. :no:
If you have any questions or comments I will be glad to help! :)

Cubanjack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7375
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:17 pm
  • Location: Antarctica, chilling with my Penguin Army

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostSun Jul 14, 2013 5:49 pm

I actually added like 2 gigs of ram to minecraft
I made a text document and typed in this

java -Xmx2048m -Xms2048m -jar "Minecraft.exe"

if you want 1 gig replace 2048 with 1024. and name the document Start Minecraft.bat
If You Feel Sad, Hug A Penguin, It Will Make Life Better
Join The Penguin Cult! Members: 19
Image
My SKyrim Mods!
My Penguin Tumblr
Lone trainer: Empoleon
Steam: Rakuza (demon head profile pic)
Gamecenter: Rakuza127

ZombieJack

Offline

  • Posts: 132
  • Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:49 pm
  • Location: Somewhere in Junk Jack, killing Slimes

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostMon Jul 15, 2013 9:37 am

You can't put more than 1 GB of RAM in Minecraft if you have 32bit Windows.

Ok, lag was caused by my AVG Anti Virus. It started to scan my computer and that was causing the lag.
Junk Jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack X.
Nothin' can stop me playin' Junk Jack.

Cubanjack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7375
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:17 pm
  • Location: Antarctica, chilling with my Penguin Army

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostMon Jul 15, 2013 4:35 pm

O yeah i have 64 bit, how much Ram in total do you have, i have 6 gigs
If You Feel Sad, Hug A Penguin, It Will Make Life Better
Join The Penguin Cult! Members: 19
Image
My SKyrim Mods!
My Penguin Tumblr
Lone trainer: Empoleon
Steam: Rakuza (demon head profile pic)
Gamecenter: Rakuza127

Multipackwolf

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 23823
  • Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:58 pm
  • Location: Grinding my way through MMO's.

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostTue Jul 16, 2013 12:39 am

ZombieJack wrote:You can't put more than 1 GB of RAM in Minecraft if you have 32bit Windows.

Ok, lag was caused by my AVG Anti Virus. It started to scan my computer and that was causing the lag.


I have a 32bit, but I can put 1.5GB into minecraft. But that's because My computer has 2GB all up, which I find is more then enough for everything I do.
Steam | Discord - Multarix#1337
Warframe | Hammerhead of <Space Shark Incorporated> | Multarix
Black Desert (NA, UNO) | GM of <Aggro> | Indus

Cubanjack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7375
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:17 pm
  • Location: Antarctica, chilling with my Penguin Army

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostTue Jul 16, 2013 12:59 am

2 gigs for me works beautifully
If You Feel Sad, Hug A Penguin, It Will Make Life Better
Join The Penguin Cult! Members: 19
Image
My SKyrim Mods!
My Penguin Tumblr
Lone trainer: Empoleon
Steam: Rakuza (demon head profile pic)
Gamecenter: Rakuza127

MinerJack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 5043
  • Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 12:17 am
  • Location: Right behind you!

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostFri Jul 19, 2013 2:41 am

Doesn't FTB allow you to allocate RAM? Anyways, if your PC has atleast 4 gigs, you can run it at 20 FPS or more.
CRACKY IS WACKY!

Cubanjack

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7375
  • Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:17 pm
  • Location: Antarctica, chilling with my Penguin Army

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostFri Jul 19, 2013 2:49 am

I like it at around 60+
If You Feel Sad, Hug A Penguin, It Will Make Life Better
Join The Penguin Cult! Members: 19
Image
My SKyrim Mods!
My Penguin Tumblr
Lone trainer: Empoleon
Steam: Rakuza (demon head profile pic)
Gamecenter: Rakuza127

Multipackwolf

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 23823
  • Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:58 pm
  • Location: Grinding my way through MMO's.

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostFri Jul 19, 2013 3:17 am

80+ for me on 1.6
Steam | Discord - Multarix#1337
Warframe | Hammerhead of <Space Shark Incorporated> | Multarix
Black Desert (NA, UNO) | GM of <Aggro> | Indus

Stuart98

Offline

User avatar
  • Posts: 7537
  • Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:00 am
  • Location: Moving your misplaced posts.

Re: Minecraft RAM

PostFri Jul 19, 2013 10:00 am

If you run it at 60+, then you might want to activate VSync, as your monitor can only display 60 FPS and having it output more will just slow things down.
Thanks, Stuart98.
i AREZ AN GRAMMER nAZI!!
Patience. Patience people.
Proud ingredient in Su Tarts. :sisi:
Ask me if you need anything. Whatever it is, I can probably take care of it.
Next

Return to Minecraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron