Welcome to Junk Jack Forum!  

• We need your support! 

Quality of Life Improvements for New Players

Discuss about new game features and ideas in this forum section.
  • Author
Exaelitus

PostWed Aug 10, 2016 11:19 pm

Hi Devs!,

New Player here. I love sandbox games, and greatly enjoy Minecraft, Terraria and Starbound. I have never heard of Junk Jack until very recently by accident. I just recently bought JJX for iOS and via Steam, since it looks like a great game!

Steam says I've played for 12 hours now, but I'm feeling that I hit a "bump" in the game that is shunting the enjoyment I initially had for the game. Here are the issues I feel are holding the game back in terms of new players who love the sandbox aspect of JJX ( Keep in mind I'm talking as a beginner, who only has access to Terra via Adventure mode - total newb. who wants to play "Normal" game mode instead of kiddie/creative mode ) :

1) There really needs to be a low-tier option to teleport back to your spawn/base. A consumable would be nice at first, then maybe a goodie trinket later in the game as I progress ( think Magic Mirror in Terraria ).

2) The many crafting stations looks sensible but I have to say initially I'm overwhelmed by all the choices. Maybe group them more together or have tiers of upgrades? Also there is no way to tell what I can make with one (so I can prioritize gathering resources to build them.) Perhaps a way to navigate to a list of items I could build with the station IF I had it (maybe act like I'm at the station and show all the grayed out recipes if I, say, right click on the station